2019 SINGAPORE – PORTRAIT

The history of Singapore

Modern Singapore was founded in the 19th century thanks to political decisions, global trade and the efforts of a man known as Sir Thomas Stamford Raffles.

Malaysia was founded in 1963 and consisted of the Federation of Malaya, Singapore, Sarawak and North Borneo (now Sabah).

The federation only lasted two years. On 9th August 1965, Singapore left the alliance and became a sovereign state, The Republic of Singapore.

TRAVEL TIPS

Singapore Quarters

Colonial Quarter (Civic District)

In the old heart of Singapore, with its numerous colonial buildings and Christian churches, one feels to travel back in time to the early 19th century when the city was a British colony. Many of these wonderful buildings are open to the public as they are now home to many museums for examples the National Gallery.

Tip: The newly renovated Raffles Hotel


Marina Bay

The new heart of the city is undoubtedly Marina Bay with its breathtaking skyline, dominated by the Marina Bay Sands (MBS) complex, designed by star architect Moshe Safdie and opened almost ten years ago. The MBS is not only a hotel, but also contains a casino, numerous restaurants, bars and the Skypark on the surfboard-like roof that connects the three towers of the building.

Tip: Famous infinity pool on top of the building – for hotel guests only


Dempsey Hill

Dempsey Hill is probably most idyllic and currently one of the trendiest quarters of Singapore. This less-known lifestyle paradise is a captivating place with new concepts in an environment of historical charm.

Tip: Peranakan* restaurant «Candlenut» with one Michelin Star


Katong

The historic district, located between the city center and Changi Airport, is known for its colorful, pretty shophouses, its rich cultural heritage and its fantastic local dishes. Katong was once full of coconut plantations and popular as a weekend destination for rich city dwellers before becoming a suburban residential area in the early 20th century. The area is only a short ten-minute drive from the city center.

Tip: Admire Peranakan* shop houses and colonial bungalows

* Peranakan: Ethni group with Chinese and Malay roots, whose culture is reflected in e.g. architecture and cuisine.


Kampong Glam

Some say that Kampong Glam is actually glam (short for glamorous). The area is a mix of history, culture and a trendy lifestyle scene. Here travelers can expect culinary delights ranging from local delicacies such as nasi padang (steamed rice with various dishes) and Malay kuih (cake) to Middle Eastern, Japanese, Swedish and even Mexican cuisine.

The colorful Haji Lane invites you to shop - a small street full of shops of different brands, original boutiques and hip bars and cafés. Alternatively, visitors can browse Arab Street or Bussorah Street for traditional products such as carpets, kebaya dresses (a traditional garment worn by Indonesian, Malay and Singaporean women on formal occasions) and handmade perfumes.


Little India

Little India is today one of Singapore's liveliest neighborhoods. Here locals and visitors can browse the colorful markets and enjoy the wide selection of fragrant spices. One of the quarter's most famous markets is the Tekka Centre, which offers visitors and locals a huge selection of fresh food in the immediate vicinity of the MRT station. The yellow-orange warehouse was renovated a few years ago and has quickly become a meeting place for gourmets looking for the best food at fair prices. The Tekka Centre stands out from the rest of the Hawker Centers in Singapore as it serves predominantly Indian dishes, including many Halal dishes.

Tip: A very special shopping experience is offered by the Mustafa Centre, a gigantic shopping centre where you can literally buy anything around the clock (it is open 24 hours a day)


Chinatown

This quarter offers a great cultural heritage and many delicacies. In Chinatown, historic squares are right next to more modern sights and Hindu temples and mosques are next to Chinese churches. In this quarter you will find almost everything your heart desires - fascinating temples and souvenir shops, trendy bars and cooks (Food Hawker Stalls). Those who spend the day in Chinatown should definitely make a stop at the Chinatown Complex Food Centre - a true gourmet temple!

Tiong Bahru

Tiong Bahru is the oldest housing estate in Singapore. Old and new meet in this idyllic setting and form a unique symbol. There's something for everyone here: Art Deco commercial buildings, some of the best dining and lifestyle offerings, and historic places that give visitors an impression of traditional Singapore. At the Tiong Bahru Market and Food Centre, visitors will find popular local dishes and a selection of fresh food. For art lovers, a visit to the Grey Projects Gallery is a must, and sweets lovers will find plenty of sweet delicacies in the Tiong Bahru Bakery.

 

Shopping

Singapore's diversity is also reflected in the numerous shopping possibilities. From large shopping centres to cheap shops and indie outlets, Singapore has something for everyone. Whether luxury brands or bargains, the city has a wide selection of large shopping centres selling both international and local brands. In Singapore's ethnic neighborhoods you can get authentic souvenirs, but one street that comes to mind immediately when thinking of shopping in Singapore is the 2.2 km stretch of Orchard Road.

Tip: «Design Orchard» on Orchard Road with local brands and designers only

Cruise

With 1.87 million passengers (2018), Singapore is one of the most important cruise hubs in the world. The Lion City has two cruise terminals: The Singapore Cruise Centre (SCC), which accommodates small and medium-sized ships, strategically located in the Sentosa Harbour front district. The impressive new Marina Bay Cruise Centre Singapore (MBCCS) can accommodate the largest cruise ships of the world. The architectural landmark with innovative design offers visitors an impressive view of the skyline of the city and the Strait of Malacca.

Green Singapore

Throughout Singapore, there are places full of pristine nature, green spaces and more diverse plant species than throughout North America. In addition to Singapore's Botanical Garden, which was declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 2015, the futuristic Gardens by the Bay and the «urban jungle» Bukit Timah also offer a welcome natural retreat after city adventures.

A 10 km long hike along the Southern Ridges is an ideal option, partly over elevated paths and bridges - eye to eye with treetops.

 

Facts & Figures

Surface area
716 km²
Population
5.39 million
Languages
English, Malay, Mandarin and Tamil
Climate
Singapore has a tropical climate and is therefore humid and very warm all year round. The rainiest months are between October and January. Usually the rains are short but heavy and fall in the early morning hours. Temperatures are usually between 29 and 33 degrees during the day and between 22 and 25 degrees at night.
Time zone
During European Summer time +6h, Winter time +7h
Currency
CHF1.00 = SGD1.39 (June 2019)
Religions
Buddhism (33 %)
Christianity (19%)
Islam (14 %)
Daoism (10 %)
Hinduism (5 %)
No religion (18,5 %)

CONTACT

Singapore Tourism Board
c/o Singapore Centre
Bleichstrasse 45
60313 Frankfurt, Germany

Phone
+49 (0)69 9207700

Brigitte U. Fleischauer
Area Director Central and Southern Europe

Martina Denhard
Assistant Manager Central and Southern Europe

© Asia Workshop 2016 | Heinrichstrasse 239 | 8005 Zurich, Switzerland
Phone +41 44 749 25 25 | info@asiaworkshop.ch
Disclaimer | Legal notice

P Herzlich willkommen zum Asia Workshop

2019 SINGAPUR – PORTRAIT

Die Geschichte Singapurs

Das moderne Singapur wurde im 19. Jahrhundert gegründet – dank politischer Entscheidungen, dem weltweiten Handel und den Bestrebungen eines Mannes, der als Sir Thomas Stamford Raffles bekannt war.

Durch Raffles wurde Singapur schliesslich zum Freihandelshafen. 1963 wurde Malaysia gegründet und bestand aus der Föderation aus Malaya, Singapur, Sarawak und Nord-Borneo (das heutige Sabah).

Der Zusammenschluss mit Singapur währte jedoch nicht lange – weniger als zwei Jahre später, am 9. August 1965, trat Singapur aus der Föderation aus und wurde ein unabhängiger, demokratischer Nationalstaat.

REISETIPPS

Die Viertel Singapurs

Kolonialviertel (Civic District)

Im alten Herz Singapurs, mit seinen zahlreichen Kolonialgebäuden und christlichen Kirchen fühlt man sich in eine andere Zeit zurückversetzt, ins frühe 19. Jahrhundert, nämlich als die Stadt britische Kolonie wurde. Viele dieser herrlichen Kolonialgebäude sind öffentlich zugänglich, da sich mittlerweile z. B. Museen in ihnen befinden wie z. B. die National Gallery.

Tipp: das neu renovierte Raffles-Hotel


Marina Bay

Marina Bay bietet eine atemberaubende Skyline, beherrscht durch den Komplex Marina Bay Sands (MBS), das von Stararchitekt Moshe Safdie entworfen wurde. Das MBS ist nicht nur Hotel, sondern beherbergt auch ein Spielkasino, zahlreiche Restaurants, Bars und auf dem an ein Surfbrett erinnerndes Dach, das die drei Türme des Gebäudes verbindet, befindet sich in luftiger Höhe der Skypark.

Tipp: der berühmte Infinity Pool in 200m Höhe – nur für Hotelgäste


Dempsey Hill

Dempsey Hill ist aktuell eines der trendigsten und gleichzeitig idyllischsten Viertel von Singapur und besticht durch neue Konzepte in einer Umgebung mit historischem Charme.

Tipp: Peranakan*-Restaurant Candlenut (ein Michelin-Stern)


Katong

Das geschichtsträchtige Viertel, zwischen Innenstadt und Changi Airport gelegen, ist für seine farbenfrohen, hübschen Shophouses, sein reiches kulturelles Erbe und seine vielen fantastischen einheimischen Gerichte bekannt. Katong war einst voll mit Kokosplantagen und beliebt als Wochenendreiseziel reicher Stadtbewohner, bevor es sich im frühen 20. Jahrhundert zu einem Vorstadtwohnbezirk entwickelte. Die Gegend ist nur eine kurze, ca. zehnminütige Fahrt vom Stadtzentrum entfernt.

Tipp: Hier kann man Peranakan*-Shophouses und koloniale Bungalows bewundern

* Peranakan: Ethnie mit chinesischen und malaiischen Wurzeln, deren Kultur sich u. a. in Architektur und Küche widerspiegelt


Kampong Glam

Manche sagen, Kampong Glam ist tatsächlich glam (kurz für glamourös). Die Gegend ist eine eklektische Mischung aus Geschichte, Kultur und einer trendigen Lifestyle-Szene. Hier erwarten Reisende kulinarischen Freuden, angefangen von einheimischen Delikatessen wie Nasi Padang (gedämpfter Reise mit verschiedenen Gerichten) und malaiischen Kuih (Kuchen) bis hin zu nahöstlicher, japanischer, schwedischer und sogar mexikanischer Küche.

Die bunte Haji Lane lädt zum Shoppen ein – eine kleine Strasse voller Geschäfte verschiedener Marken, origineller Boutiquen und hipper Bars und Cafés. Alternativ können Besucher in der Arab- oder der Bussorah Street nach traditionellen Produkten wie Teppichen, Stoffen oder Kleidungsstücken und handgemachten Parfüms stöbern.


Little India

Little India ist heute eines von Singapurs lebhaftesten Vierteln. Hier können Einheimische und Besucher die farbenfrohen Märkte durchstöbern und sich von der grossen Auswahl duftender Gewürze begeistern lassen. Einer der bekanntesten Märkte des Viertels ist das Tekka Centre mit einer riesigen Auswahl an frischen Lebensmitteln.

Das Tekka Centre hebt sich vom Rest der Hawker Centres in Singapur ab, da es überwiegend indische Gerichte serviert, darunter eine grosse Anzahl an Halal-Gerichten.

Tipp: Shopping-Erlebnis der ganz besonderen Art: Mustafa Centre, ein Einkaufszentrum von gigantischen Ausmaßen, in dem man rund um die Uhr (es ist tatsächlich 24 Stunden am Tag geöffnet) buchstäblich alles kaufen kann.


Chinatown

Dieses Viertel bietet neben einem großen kulturellen Erbe viele Köstlichkeiten. Geschichtsträchtige Plätze liegen in Chinatown neben moderneren Sehenswürdigkeiten. Hindu-Tempel und Moscheen stehen direkt neben chinesischen Gotteshäusern. In diesem Viertel findet man so gut wie alles, was das Herz begehrt – faszinierende Tempel und Souvenirläden, angesagte Bars und Garküchen (Hawker bzw. Food Center). Wer den Tag in Chinatown verbringt, sollte unbedingt einen Zwischenstopp im Chinatown Complex Food Centre einlegen – ein wahrer Schlemmertempel!

Tiong Bahru

Tiong Bahru ist die älteste Wohnsiedlung Singapurs. In dieser idyllischen Umgebung treffen Alt und Neu aufeinander und bilden eine einzigartige Symbiose. Hier ist für jeden etwas dabei: Art Deco-Geschäftshäuser, einige der besten Speise- und Lifestyleangebote sowie geschichtsträchtige Orte, die Besuchern einen Eindruck des traditionellen Singapur vermitteln. Im Tiong Bahru Market and Food Centre finden Besucher beliebte einheimische Gerichte sowie eine Auswahl frischer Lebensmittel. Für Kunstaffine ist ein Besuch in der Galerie Grey Projects ein Muss und Naschkatzen kommen in der Tiong Bahru Bakery mit zahlreichen süssen Delikatessen auf ihre Kosten.

 

Shopping

Singapurs Vielfalt spiegelt sich auch in den zahlreichen Einkaufsmöglichkeiten wider. Von großen Einkaufszentren zu günstigen Läden und Indie-Outlets, in Singapur findet jeder etwas für seinen Geschmack. Ob Luxusmarken oder Schnäppchen, die Stadt verfügt über eine breite Auswahl an großen Einkaufszentren, in denen sowohl internationale als auch lokale Marken verkauft werden. Beliebte Shoppingmeile ist die 2,2 km lange Orchard Road.

Tipp: «Design Orchard» auf der Orchard Road mit ausschliesslich lokalen Marken und Designern.

Kreuzfahrten

Mit 1,87 Millionen Passagieren (Stand 2018) ist Singapur eines der wichtigsten Kreuzfahrt-Zentren der Welt. Die Löwenstadt wartet gleich mit zwei Kreuzfahrtterminals auf: Das Singapore Cruise Centre (SCC), welches kleine und mittelgroße Schiffe aufnimmt, liegt strategisch günstig im Sentosa HarbourFront-Bezirk. Im beeindruckenden, neuen Marina Bay Cruise Centre Singapore (MBCCS) können die größten Kreuzfahrtschiffe der Welt anlegen. Das architektonische Wahrzeichen mit innovativem Design bietet Besuchern einen eindrucksvollen Ausblick auf die Skyline der Innenstadt und die Straße von Malacca.

Das grüne Singapur

In ganz Singapur gibt es Orte voll ursprünglicher Natur, Grünanlagen und mehr unterschiedliche Pflanzenarten als in ganz Nordamerika. Neben dem in 2015 zum UNESCO Kulturerbe erhobenen Botanischen Garten Singapurs bieten auch die futuristischen Gardens by the Bay oder der «Stadtdschungel» Bukit Timah ein willkommenes natürliches Refugium nach den Grossstadt-Abenteuern.

Eine 10 km lange Wanderung bietet sich entlang den Southern Ridges an, die teilweise über erhöhte Wege und Brücken – Auge in Auge mit Baumwipfeln – führt.

 

Facts & Figures

Fläche
716 km²
Einwohner
5,39 Millionen
Sprachen
Englisch, Malaiisch, Mandarin und Tamil
Klima
Singapur hat ein tropisches Klima und ist deshalb das ganze Jahr über feucht und sehr warm. Die regenreichsten Monate sind zwischen Oktober und Januar. Meist sind die Regengüsse kurz aber heftig und fallen in die frühen Morgenstunden. Die Temperaturen liegen normalerweise tagsüber zwischen 29 und 33 Grad Celsius und nachts zwischen 22 und 25 Grad Celsius.
Zeitzone
Während der Europäischen Sommerzeit +6h, Winterzeit +7h
Währung
CHF1.00 = SGD1.39 (Stand Juni 2019)
Religionen
Buddhismus (33 %)
Christentum (19%)
Islam (14 %)
Daoismus (10 %)
Hinduismus (5 %)
Keiner Religion zugehörig (18,5 %)

KONTAKT

Singapore Tourism Board
c/o Singapore Centre
Bleichstrasse 45
D-60313 Frankfurt

Telefon
+49 (0)69 9207700

Brigitte U. Fleischauer
Area Director Central and Southern Europe

Martina Denhard
Assistant Manager Central and Southern Europe

© Asia Workshop 2016 | Förrlibuckstrasse 110 | CH-8005 Zürich
Telefon +41 44 749 25 25 | info@asiaworkshop.ch
Disclaimer | Impressum